Foundation Fellows

The highest recognition awarded by the Graduate Theological Foundation to a member of its faculty is that of Fellow.

Shaykh Ibrahim Abdul-Malik, Ed.D. (Harvard), Ph.D.
El-Hajj Malik El-Shabazz Professor of American Muslim History and Culture (GTF)

Rabbi Howard Addison, D.D. (Jewish Theological Seminary of America), D.Min. (Chicago Theological Seminary), Ph.D.
Gershom Scholem Professor of Jewish Spirituality
Director of Jewish Spirituality (GTF)

The Rev. Dennis J. Billy, C.Ss.R., D.Min., Th.D. (Harvard, S.T.D. (Angelicum/Rome)
Karl Rahner Professor of Catholic Theology

The Rev. Msgr. Charles J. Chaffman, J.C.D.
Judicial Vicar, Archdiocese of Los Angeles
Director, International Institute of Theological Studies
Professor of Tribunal Studies (GTF)

The Rev. Fr. Jorge R. Colón-León, S.T.D. (Gregorian), Ph.D. , D.D.
Francois-Xavier Durrwell, C.Ss.R., Professor of Theology (GTF)

(late) Professor Ewert Cousins, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus,
Fordham University (NY)
Teilhard de Chardin Professor of Spirituality
and Theology (GTF)

Vivian Robles Dettbarn-Slaughter, D.S.M., D.F.A.
Professor of Sacred Music (GTF)

Susan Fowler, Ph.D.
Dorothy Day Professor of Spirituality and Leadership (GTF)

The Revd Fr. Robin Gibbons, Ph.D.
Director of Theology and Religious Studies,
Oxford University Department for Continuing Education
Associate Programme Director,
Oxford Theology Summer School
Alexander Schmemann Professor of Eastern Christianity (GTF)

Ann V. Graber, D.Min., Ph.D.
Diplomate, Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy
Professor of Pastoral Logotherapy (GTF)
Director, Graduate Center for Pastoral Logotherapy (GTF)

The Rev. C. Anthony Hunt, D.Min., Ph.D.
E. Franklin Frazier Professor of African American Studies (GTF)
Professor of Systematic, Moral and Practical Theology
and Permanent Dunning Distinguished Lecturer
(Ecumenical Institute of Theology, St. Mary’s Seminary
and University)

Sr. Raymunda Jordan, OP, D.Min.
James Ashbrook Professor Emerita of Pastoral Psychology (GTF)
Vicar General, The Dominican Sisters of St. Catherine Siena Newcastle (Natal, South Africa)

The Rev. Marlene Kropf, D.Min., D.D.
William B. Oglesby, Jr., Professor of Pastoral Theology (GTF)
Professor Emerita of Spiritual Formation and Worship,
Anabaptist Mennonite Biblical Seminary
Minister of Worship,
Mennonite Church USA

The Rev. Fr. Francis Leong, MM, D.Min., Ph.D., D.S.M., D.D.
Director of Southeast Asia Programs (GTF)
Bishop James Anthony Walsh Professor
of Asian Christian Studies and Musicology (GTF)
The (late) Revd Canon John Macquarrie, Ph.D., D.D.,
The Lady Margaret Professor Emeritus of Divinity and Canon,
Christ Church, Oxford University
Martin Heidegger Professor of Philosophical Theology (GTF)

Rabbi James Michaels, D.Min., D.D.
Rabbi A. Stanley Dreyfus Professor of Jewish Studies (GTF)
Director of Pastoral Care, Hebrew Home of Greater Washington

John H. Morgan, Ph.D., D.Sc., Psy.D.
Karl Mannheim Professor of the History & Philosophy of the Social Sciences (GTF)

Linda G. Morgan, Ed.D., Provost (GTF)
Katie Ferguson Professor of Religious Education (GTF)
The Rev. John Edward Mulvihill, D.Min. (San Francisco Theological Seminary), Ed.D., S.T.D. (Gregorian/Rome), Ph.D., D.D.
Gratian Professor of Canon Law (GTF)

The Rev. Anthony Nwachukwu, Psy.D., Ph.D. (Federal University of Port Harcourt)
Professor of Counseling Psychology and West African Studies (GTF)

The (late) Rev. Fr. Bernard O’Connor, J.D., S.T.D., D.H.L.,
Congregation for Eastern Churches, Vatican Curia (Rome)
John Henry Cardinal Newman Professor
of Theology and Ecclesial Mediation (GTF)

The Rev. Hugh R. Page, Jr., D.Min., Ph.D. (Harvard)
Dean of the First Year of Studies,
Walter Associate Professor of Theology,
Associate Professor of Africana Studies (Univ. of Notre Dame)
Benjamin E. Mays Professor of Scripture and Applied Ministries,
Counsel to the President for Anglican Affairs (GTF)

The Rev. Fr. James Puglisi, SA, Ph.D., S.T.D.,
Minister General, Franciscan Friars of Atonement
Director, Centro Pro Unione (Rome)
Francis Joseph Cardinal Spellman Professor
of Catholic Theology (GTF)

Imam Omar Shahin, J.D, (Jordan) Ph.D., LL.D,
President, Executive Committee of the
North American Imams Federation
Dean of Islamic Studies (GTF)
Ibn Taymiyya Professor of Islamic Law (GTF)

The Revd Canon Jane Shaw, Ph.D., D.D.,
Fellow and Dean of Divinity, New College, Oxford University
Evelyn Underhill Professor of Historical Theology (GTF)

The Revd Canon Vincent Strudwick, D.D.,
Chamberlain and Honorary Fellow, Kellogg College,
Oxford University

Bishop John Tinsley Professor of Anglican Theology (GTF)
(late) Ekman P. C. Tam, Psy.D.
Professor Emeritus of Spirituality and Psychotherapy (GTF)
President, Christian Contemplative Spirituality Institute

The (late) Rt. Revd John Tinsley, D.D., Bishop of Bristol (UK)
Senior Fellow in Anglican Theology (GTF)

The Rev. Robley Whitson, A.Th.D., Ph.D., President Emeritus (GTF)
Distinguished Professor of Theological Anthropology (GTF)

Foundation Honorary Fellows

The highest recognition awarded by the GTF to a non-faculty person who has made a major contribution to the institution is that of Honorary Fellow.

Rabbi David H. Aaron, Ph.D.
Professor of Hebrew Bible
and History of Interpretation,
Hebrew Union College – Jewish Institute of Religion

Professor Robert C. Barnes, Ph.D.,D.H.L.
President, Viktor Frankl Institute of Logotherapy

Revd Professor John Barton, D.Phil, D.Litt., Theo.Dr.
Oriel and Laing Professor of the Interpretation of Holy Scripture,
Oriel College, Oxford University
Canon Theologian,
Winchester Cathedral (UK)

Chris Day, LL.D.
Director of Academic Programmes,
International Programmes Division,
Oxford University Department for Continuing Education

Professor Dr. Osama Mohamed Elabd
President of Al-Azhar UniversityAnne Gardner, Ph.D.Senior Lecturer, La Trobe University of AustraliaOld Testament Editor, Australian Biblical Review

The Rt. Rev’d Professor Lord Harries of Pentregarth, D.D.
Bishop of Oxford (retired)
Gresham Professor of Divinity (Gresham College, London)
Honorary Professor of Theology, King’s College, London

Carlos Ham, D. Min., Ph.D.
Rector of the Evangelical Seminary of Matanzas, Cuba

The (late) Angus Hawkins, Ph.D., F.R.Hist.S.
Director, International Programmes,
Oxford University Department for Continuing Education (UK)

Rabbi Stanley Kessler, D.H.L.
Temple Beth Israel, West Hartford, Connecticut

Kathryn Lohre, D.D.
President, National Council of Churches

Professor Christo Lombaard, Ph.D., D.D.
Professor of Christian Spirituality, University of South AfricaJames S. McLaren, Ph.D.Reader in the School of Theology, Australian Catholic UniversityNew Testament Editor, Australian Biblical Review

The Very Revd John Moses, KCVO, Ph.D., D.D.,
Dean Emeritus, St. Paul’s Cathedral, London

Basil A. J. Mustafa, Ph.D.
The Mandela Fellow in Educational Studies,
Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies (UK) The Rev. Dr. Douglas Ronsheim, D.Min., D.D.
Executive Director, American Association of Pastoral Counselors

The (late) Very Revd Robert Runcie, D.D.
Archbishop of Canterbury (UK)

The (late) Rt. Rev. Krister Stendahl, Ph.D., D.D.
Bishop of Stockholm
Dean of Harvard Divinity School

Dom Felix Struik, OP, S.T.D., D.D.
Regent of Studies, Dominican Center of Studies in the Caribbean (Puerto Rico)

Sayyid M. Syeed, Ph.D., D.H.L.
Secretary General, Islamic Society of North America (USA)

The (late) Professor Edward O. Wilson, Ph.D., D.H.L.
University Research Professor Emeritus and
Honorary Curator in Entomology
of the Museum of Comparative Zoology,
Harvard University

Scroll to Top